Due to the COVID-19 pandemic and the social distancing restrictions still in place, the Nassau County Council of School Superintendents was unable to host their annual end of year meeting and recognition of retirees as usual. Instead, a virtual meeting was held on Wednesday, June 17.

During the meeting, the Council recognized retiring school district superintendents Dr. Rosemarie T. Bovino, Island Park UFSD, Mr. Albert Harper, Elmont UFSD; Dr. Anna Hunderfund, Locust Valley UFSD; Dr. James H. Hunderfund, Malverne UFSD; and Dr. William H. Johnson, Rockville Centre UFSD.

Outgoing Council president Dr. Nicholas A. Stirling thanked the Board of Directors for their service to the Council, Mr. Charles Cardillo for his services as Executive Director and the membership for their support and participation. Dr. Laura Seinfeld will serve the NCCSS as president in the 2020-2021 school year.